Racy dragon….

Oh, spare me.

I twisted my knee again, setting me back a week or so, so skosh has had to do leg duty more than he would wish and there has been a lot of low-level muttering, which coming from skosh sounds like an old royal typewriter clattering away in James Thurber’s study.

We did, however, watch the Monaco Grand Prix recently and skosh was rapt. he watched with a minimum of muttering and only then in mumblings of respect and awe. no fussing, wiggling, tail-whipping or squeakings for his gamedragon. He had found his life’s ambition: skosh, the formula one champion race driver. I thought I heard him refer to Michael Schumacher as “Lili Marlene on a tricycle” and allege that he could take Louis Hamilton ‘two clinkers out of three.” Arrogant and self absorbed already, and not even on the track yet…hmmm. He certainly has the beginner’s attitude.

Since it has become clear that my knee may need extensive healing time, and he will be with me for awhile, skosh has gone from calling me “too-dawntktktktk” to mumstktktk.” we have bonded and I shall be sorry to see him go…so sorry, in fact, that I may approach rosa about making him a permanent member of my household. she has informed me that the new egglings have hatched and they are an unruly and disobedient lot, and she has her hands full even with the help of the older hatchlings that are hired on at the nests as ‘candyscalers’ to care for the toddlers. I imagine she will be relieved to have one less little beast (no pun) to deal with.

For the last two weeks, skosh has been clinging to my left leg (a good thing, as it turns out, since that is what he was hired to do) begging, wheedling, making impossible promises of exemplary behavior, and weeping copious dragon tears which I am saving in a pretty dish since they are not tears in the accepted sense but rather crystals, cut in the 1920’s french manner. Very pretty indeed. But i digress. skosh wants a formula one car. now. this minute. “FLEEEEEEEEZZZtktktktk!!! MUMSFLEEEEEZEtktktk!!” Hard to resist, especially since it never ceases. tktktktk in my ear, along with rather toasty dragon breath, at 3 a.m. gah.

We found a model of a McLaren formula 1 car that we put together for him and gave him little decals just like the big guys and found a helmet his size and surprised him with all of the goodies we had gotten. We won’t be doing that on a regular basis as the sounds of dragonly delight rattled the furniture and shattered a front window. Since then we have had little peace but I must admit it is funny to watch, and to hear him make engine sounds, as he is not only a shape shifter but an excellent mimic. Luckily, the sound of a formula one engine is one of the few things that sends me into a deep, restful slumber. It works out for all of us and it warms me to see him so happy. A little unnerving when he flies across the ceiling in his McLaren, but one becomes inured. One has to. When you love someone, you will put up with a lot, and we LOOOOVEZ HIM,tktktktktk. – Posted by Susan

See more drawings and prints by Susan and Dennis at our Etsy store  Galerie Yggdrasil

Leave a Reply

