The mask series…..

I’ve written about how I use a photo as raw material in my work, but never showed an image that I use as a departure. Here is an image that I use frequently, followed by two prints derived from that basic material
This image was turned into Mask#48
And from Mask #48 developed into Mask#49

As to the question of process, I throw everything into it, push the  filters into distortion, crash the computer, induce feedback and color harmonics, and then subtract everything I don’t like. No scraping the canvas, no waiting for something to dry. No cleaning brushes and removing paint from the floor, walls, my hair and clothes. I get enough stimulation from some of my other work.

Posted by Dennis

Find more prints and drawings by Dennis and Susan at Galerie Yggdrasil

Leave a Reply

