Christmas toes…….

Dammit,now, I have told Skosh repeatedly that we are a family of Pagans and Buddhists and do not celebrate Christmas, but I made a terrible error last week by taking him shopping for little things for his friends and a special gift for Heather that he was nagging me for….a diamond beak stud that she had been wanting for almost a year.  He saw the trees, all decked out in bright shiny doodles, and became enamored of the whole idea of the pretty, bright delights that the season demands.  against my better judgement, and also against my pleas, he decided to shapeshift  in order to accomodate the season.  Thus, he has become, for the nonce, what you see here.  He was not sure how to incorporate his feet and tail into the shape he wished them to become, so he did the best he could.

Blessed Solstice, everyone, and to all of Skosh’s friends and fans…merry christfeet.  happy holitail.  Truly..he meant well.

This is a recipe I made this year for the first time.  It is a recipe that my mother gave me, she got it from her mother,  who got it from my great gramma Owen , who got it from….well.  I could go on.  in any case, it is well over  a hundred years old and I hope you are versed in baking, because it has no instructions.

1 cup butter

1 1/2 cup sugar

2 eggs

2/3 cup sour cream

4 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons baking powder

That’s it.  It is a bitch to mix, sticky and unruly. Since I know how to bake I set the temp of the oven at 350.  I have a hot oven but still I recommend this temp. Watch them carefully since they are a delicate cookie.  They should be a little brown on the bottom and sides but not too much on the tops.  This recipe makes about a billion cookies so give lots away but do keep some for yourselves as they are really good.  I thank my great great grandmother for these…..thank you, gramma Foreman.  I love you, though I never met you.  Merry Christmas.

Posted by Susan.  See more strange, inappropriate art at Galerie Yggdrasil

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Christmas toes…….”

  1. Jeanne Desy Says:

    Oh, Christmas toes, oh Christmas toes
    I love your painted toenails.

    And I love the idea of the recipe, handed down through the lineage of women.

Leave a Reply

